Sharepoint Site and My Site in different languages


A friend on mine asked me if I had any ideia how can a Sharepoint site be in one language (Portuguese) and the correspondant My sites be in another (English).

The reason was that the Sharepoint was in English and had the Portuguese language pack installed, the result of this is that when a user creates his My Site it will be done in English and not Portuguese. Why?

Well, in the Shared Services, User Profiles and My Sites there is an option My Sites Settings. There you have a check box to enable the user to choose the language for their personal site, it should be unchecked . . .

So to sum up, to solve the problem you can check that option, and the users will be asked, on the creation of the personnal sites, in which language they choose.

It isn´t rocket science, but it solves problems.

Computer developer/consultant from Portugal. You can find me at ricardo.magalhaes@gmail.com

Tagged with:
Posted in Sharepoint
4 comments on “Sharepoint Site and My Site in different languages
  1. Click Here! says:

    Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing
    like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  2. CLICK HERE! says:

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve consider your stuff prior to and you’re simply too excellent.
    I really like what you have got right here, certainly like what you’re saying and
    the way during which you say it. You’re making it entertaining aand you still take care of to stay it smart.

    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to
    be really something that I think I would never
    understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try
    to get the hang of it!

  4. Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book
    mark this site.

Leave a Reply

