Migrating MCMS database to MOSS 2007


Stefan Gossner has written an article on setting up the MCMS to migrate to MOSS 2007 and another about problems in migration MCMS database to MOSS 2007, more specificaly about the Noexisting User. Besides the importance of the the articles itself (migration between CMS and MOSS) we also have some info about the diferences between the latest builds and Beta 2.

“A couple of users asked me how I setup my system to do the migration of a MCMS database to MOSS 2007. . . .”

“Today I had to upgrade my MOSS installation to the latest builds as I ran into blocking bug in Beta 2 which prevented me from being able to continue with my MCMS migration.

After upgrading I did another analysis step to see if something changed.

Indeed there were a couple of changes:

The Host header mapping enabled warning, the deleted items and the nonexistent user warning no longer showed up – might mean that this is now automatically handled by the new build. Not sure what this means for the deleted items and for the users. Will these now be migrated or ignored? We will see…”

You can find this article here.

Computer developer/consultant from Portugal. You can find me at ricardo.magalhaes@gmail.com

Posted in CMS, Sharepoint, Sharepoint

Leave a Reply

