Add link to approval task in notification email


One of the annoying things in Sharepoint 2010 is related to the workflows, if you are using Outlook 64 bits (or Word 64 bits) and try to use the “Open this Task” button in the email message (ribbon) this will not work, why? Known Issue!!!
Is there a fix? I have not found one that didn’t included editing registry entries . . .

So we can provide a workarround and include a link to the task in the email body. This is quite simple to do and it calm down your users. How can we do this?

1 – Open the Sharepoint Designer 2010
2 – Open the desired workflow
3 – Edit the Workflow
4 – Usually the notifications are in the “Change the behavior of a single task” option.
5 – choose the action related to sending emails:
a – Email task notification to . . .
b – Email …
6 – Edit the email body to include a text like: “You can also open the task using this link” or something lik this :)
6 – insert an Hyperlink using the option next to the font options with the symbol of the Hyperlink.
7 – Edit Hyperlink
a – Text to display – write the text you want to show the users.
b – Address – choose the fx button and select the following options:
b1 – Data Source: Current Task: . . . .
b2 – Field from source: Form_URN

That’s it you can now test and check that the notification email sends this link to the users.

NOTE: You must perform this action to all notificatio on emails that apply in the workflow.

Computer developer/consultant from Portugal. You can find me at ricardo.magalhaes@gmail.com

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Sharepoint, Sharepoint 2010
70 comments on “Add link to approval task in notification email
  1. [...] Add link to approval task in notification email [...]

  2. Tony says:

    Very nice post)

  3. blackpsyco says:

    I’m using sharepoint 2007, develop a form library. the form needs an approval after it’s created.
    one form has more than one approver, its working sequentially on workflow. every approver will get a notification email.

    I’m wandering if it is possible to put the approval button on email body?
    so the approver could response directly on his/her email without open the form on browser.
    or is there any other solutions that can help me to deliver this problem of mine?
    need your help! or my boss will kill me!

  4. Josef says:

    Thanks Ricardo, exactly what I was wrestling with.

  5. Its a very good article

  6. shajna says:

    thanks a tonnn jus the thing i needed .. wonderful article.. thank u soo much

  7. Tom says:

    Thanks. I have been looking high and low for a solution to this problem since some of my users are on a previous version of office where the open task button is not availabe. Your solution works great if your task action is an approval, feedback or custom task process where the task notification email is easily available as you point out. However, where can the notification email be accessed if you are using a workflow action such as “Collect data from user”. This action assigns a task to the user and a task notification email gets sent to collect the information. I cannot find a way to edit this email. Do you have any idea where it can be accessed so it can also be customized by adding a link to the task?

  8. I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours lately, but I by
    no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s pretty price sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the internet will likely be much more helpful than ever before.

  9. Your style is so unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

  10. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a
    comment is added I receive four emails with the
    exact same comment. Is there a means you can remove me from
    that service? Thank you!

  11. Brock says:

    Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info particularly the final part :) I care for such information
    a lot. I used to be looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  12. For More says:

    Hi there friends, its fantastic paragraph about educationand fully explained, keep it up all the time.

  13. There’s definately a lot to know about this issue. I really like all the points you’ve made.

  14. Leanne says:

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of
    valuable familiarity regarding unexpected emotions.

  15. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend
    your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website?
    The account helped me a appropriate deal.
    I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vibrant clear idea

  16. Remarkable! Its in fact amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea concerning from this
    piece of writing.

  17. I all the time emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts, because if like to read it after
    that my contacts will too.

  18. I read this piece of writing fully regarding the resemblance of newest and previous technologies, it’s awesome article.

  19. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  20. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about dating
    websites free 100. Regards

  21. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking
    about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog
    when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  22. Amazing issues here. I’m very satisfied to see your post. Thanks so much and I am taking a look forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  23. I know this web page offers quality depending content and extra
    data, is there any other web site which gives these kinds
    of stuff in quality?

  24. Greetings! Very useful advice within this post! It is the little changes
    that will make the largest changes. Many thanks for
    sharing!

  25. Right away I am going to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming over again to read additional news.

  26. Web Page says:

    Good day! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for your
    great information you have got here on this post.
    I will be returning to your website for more soon.

  27. Greetings I am so thrilled I found your website,
    I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers
    for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I
    have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  28. Remarkable! Its actually remarkable paragraph, I have got much clear idea regarding from this article.

  29. burn fat says:

    Good blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find
    high-quality writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals like
    you! Take care!!

  30. Hello my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice
    written and include approximately all vital
    infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  31. Ultra Moolah says:

    Thanks for another fantastic article. Where else could anyone get that kind of info in
    such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search for such info.

  32. Wow! At last I got a weblog from where I be able to truly get useful data concerning my study and knowledge.

  33. webpage says:

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple
    ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and
    she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  34. click here says:

    After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked
    on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same
    comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me
    from that service? Cheers!

  35. I really enjoy checking in on your blog every number of
    months Matt, you happen to be always creating smart new
    endeavours and innovations. Something like BetterLinux has been needed to get a extended time.
    Kudos for taking the lead and envisioning this new tool.

  36. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead
    of that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly
    be back.

  37. Hi Paul, I am considered one of Gus and Laverne’s eight “kids”! I am now nearly 66 years old, happen to be married 45 years and have 5 grandkids… Dad has been deceased nearly 24 years and Mom passed 1 1/2 years ago. However, I am so glad to discover which you are on Sat nights on KSEV and will bring back “the fantastic ol’ Days”! I know Mom and Dad thought the world of you and I fondly recall the days that you visited us at “The Lake” on Alkire Road in Sugar Land. Fantastic memories. Keep up your great get the job done and I thoroughly enjoyed the article last Sunday inside the Houston Chronicle. You might have rich Houston roots!

  38. Tiffany says:

    I am truly happy to glance at this website posts which
    consists of plenty of helpful facts, thanks for providing these kinds
    of data.

  39. Simply desire tto say your article is as
    astonishing. The clearness in your publish is simply great and i can assume
    you are a professional in this subject. Well along
    with your permission allow me to grab your feed to stay up to date
    with coming near near post. Thank you 1,000,000
    aand please carry on the enjoyable work.

  40. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you
    could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot
    of text for only having 1 or 2 images. Maybe you could space it
    out better?csr racing cheats mac Os x

  41. nasza oferta says:

    It’s not my first time to go to see this website, i am visiting this website dailly and take nice data from here all the time.

  42. hello!,I love your writing very a lot! share we communicate extra approximately your post on AOL?
    I require an expert in this house to solve my problem.
    Maybe that is you! Looking forward to look you.

  43. Victims of medical malpractice caused by cosmetic surgery could be entitled to compensation for damages related to their injuries.

    In fact, there is much to be said from the positive benefit that
    a person can receive and the boost in self confidence that can
    be experienced when physical problems are solved.
    info, which gives you detailed advice about Health For Women.

  44. You stated this adequately!

  45. Johnd477 says:

    I am impressed with this website, rattling I am a big fan. fkdffdfeedee

  46. Johnd299 says:

    Hey very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds alsoI’m happy to find numerous useful information here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . . debdfaacbeae

  47. Yvette says:

    I was suggested this blog by means of my cousin.
    I’m not sure whether this post is written by way of him as nobody else
    recognize such precise about my trouble. You are amazing!

    Thanks!

  48. I simply could not leave your web site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard information a person supply for your guests?
    Is going to be back steadily in order to check up on new posts

  49. I hope that you’ve discovered this short Adiphene evaluation helpful and
    I wish you well in your weight reduction efforts. This continues
    to be not 100% confirmed, but keep tuned. The powerful elements of Adiphene are clinically tested and verified as extremely effective towards excess fat within the physique.

  50. Alkags5 says:

    Sit back and ponder on your preferences when you are decisive in nature.

    http://searchrankresults.co.nz

  51. Tomas says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across
    this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot.

    I hope to present something back and help others such as you helped me.

  52. google says:

    Yes, you guessed it right – more leads, more listings, more closed deals, and definitely more money
    for you. Then it must be the attack of Google redirect virus.
    An interesting point, though, with the new updates is the emphasis shift
    from traditional style PR news submission, to more blogging.

  53. phone buyers says:

    I believe this is among the such a lot important info for me.
    And i am happy studying your article. However should commentary on few general things,
    The web site style is ideal, the articles is truly excellent : D.
    Just right activity, cheers

  54. buy adiphene says:

    I hope that you’ve discovered this short Adiphene evaluation helpful and I
    wish you well in your weight reduction efforts. Glucomannan has a particular means to soak up water and swell inside the stomach.
    The thermogenic and stimulants from Adiphene will help your body to burn the energy
    which are consumed throughout meals.

  55. Johng294 says:

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, as well as the content! eddbcdggcdad

  56. youtube.com says:

    Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers
    and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker
    then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a fair price?

    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  57. Designing and Implementing Compaq Storage – Works Enterprise Backup.
    To know how much you can afford to spend on your
    new computer, check your finances first. And you would get the same warranty as in the new
    apparatus. Servere second Enasistem

  58. lose weight says:

    Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  59. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

  60. As the admin of this website is working, no uncertainty very quickly it
    will be famous, due to its feature contents.

  61. Asking questions are truly nice thing if you are not understanding anything fully, except this paragraph offers nice understanding yet.

  62. samar malik says:

    You are saying right lose weight drinks

  63. fbtohero says:

    Hey! I understand this is sort of off-topic
    however I needed to ask. Does running a well-established blog
    like yours require a large amount of work? I am completely new to running a blog
    however I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily
    share my own experience and views online. Please let me
    know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand
    new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

  64. Lady Gagga has flaunted herr bisexuality evn more (much to the concern of some
    of the readers of this column, obviously, according to the comment from people who can’t believe it’s true).
    For his personal goals, he looked at his physical and mental health; his hobbies, both current as well as those new ones which hee was keen on taking up shortly; his family; where he presently lived
    and also where hhe wanted tto live in the coming future; where hhe intended travelling to aand some favorite places that he planned on visiting; and so forth.
    They not only help to people in shifting or transporting thedir goods from one to another destination bbut
    they also help iin loading and unloading their belongings.

  65. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later.
    Cheers

  66. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i
    subscribe for a weblog website? The account helped me a
    applicable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast provided vibrant transparent concept

  67. Michael K. Malloy says:

    This is amazing! Thank you!!!

  68. That is really interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to in quest of more of your
    magnificent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  69. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog
    website? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

